Sunday, March 07, 2021

Bulldog speech and debate snatches divisional title

Editor | January 27, 2021 1:00 AM

The Whitefish Bulldog speech and debate team beat out Columbia Falls by just two points to seize the Western A Divisional title last weekend.

Whitefish earned 156 sweepstakes points to take first place followed by Columbia Falls at 154 and Frenchtown earned third with 132 points. The three teams have spent the season battling out for the top spots at each tournament.

The teams are set to compete in the State Class A tournament this weekend hosted virtually by Sidney.

“It’s crazy to go into state with such a tight race,” said Head Coach Sara Mueller. “I am proud to have this team competing among Columbia Falls and Frenchtown. Both are incredibly well-coached, resilient, and talented.”

The Bulldogs had six champions at the divisional tournament — the team of Sophie Tabor and Stacie Tremper in public forum debate, Abigail Bowden in both extemporaneous and impromptu speaking, Lucy Schindler in dramatic interpretation and memorized public address and Adrienne Healy in informative speaking.

Mueller said the team really pulled together to put in long hours and support each other, which resulted in the six divisional champions, three categories where Whitefish earned first and second place and several competitors placing the highest in their careers.

“I’m grateful to have qualified all the slots we had because it’s obvious that every point will be needed,” Mueller said. “State will take place over three days — much like this season, it will be a marathon and the team who is steady and bounces back will have the upper-hand.”

As with all the tournaments this season, students will participate in the state meet virtually from their own school.

Results for the Western Divisional Tournament:

Sweepstakes: 1. Whitefish (156), 2. Columbia Falls (154), Frenchtown (132)

Policy Debate- 7. Ali Hirsch and Danika Tintzman, 8. Bethany Barnes and Emma Trieweiler, Also qualifying: Gavin Carmichael and Liam Lynch

Public Forum Debate- 1. Sophie Tabor and Stacia Tremper, 5. Addie Blackaby and Zoe Tremper, 7. Rachel Rowles and Dashiell Schindler

Lincoln-Douglas Debate: 7. Luca Welle

Extemporaneous Speaking- 1. Abigail Bowden, 2. Grayson Butler, 7. Sydney Garcia

Impromptu Speaking: 1. Abigail Bowden, 2. Adrienne Healy, Also qualifying: Katie Benkelman

Humorous Interpretation: Qualifying: McKenna Ferril

Dramatic Interpretation: 1. Lucy Schindler, 7. Marina Nugent, Also qualifying: Gabby Pickert

Original Oratory: 4. Paetra Cooke, Also qualifying: Marina Nugent, Adam Healy

Informative Speaking: 1. Adrienne Healy, 6. Gabby Pickert

Memorized Public Address: 1. Lucy Schindler, 2. Paetra Cooke, 6. McKenna Ferril